Not easy, but working

A place to eternalise your Gigatron build photos. From box to BASIC.
Forum rules
Use this forum to show off your build photos. For build issues, please consult the directions in the sticky post on top instead.
Colin

Not easy, but working

Post by Colin »

I have 50 years experience building electronics. I design electronics for a living and back in the 70s designed processor boards for mini-computers.
However even using a professional equipment, this kit was a challenge. It took about three hours to build and another hour to debug.

Once finished it was obviously doing something, but the LEDs were not blinking. (BTW I would argue with which end of the LED is marked +)
In the end I looked around the board for bad logic levels and found one. D19 was faulty. I replaced it and it now works.
Attachments
gigatron_s.JPG
gigatron_s.JPG (664.92 KiB) Viewed 6607 times
marcelk

Re: Not easy, but working

Post by marcelk »

Do you mean U19? Interestingly in one of my own experimental builds I had shorted a signal pin there: pin 7, it's sitting between two grounded pins. Was it the same by any chance?

I find it impressive that you can find that in 1 hour. (But the diode mode check may have found it, not sure.)

For your consideration and if still possible, I wouldn't mind to have that part back so we can send it to our supplier. We'll reimburse the shipping costs of course. Please contact us by mail if you like.

Anyway, in any such case of needing of replacement, we can send parts as well of course.

And oh: congratulations and thanks for sharing the result :-)
Colin

Post by Colin »

It was D19. I was just scoping around the board looking for bad logic levels. The top of that diode showed obvious signs of two outputs fighting each other. (Half rail levels.)

I did destroy the diode removing it. Cut in half, drop out the bits and then suck out the holes.

There were two spare diodes in the kit.