Pluggy Reloaded

Using, learning, programming and modding the Gigatron and anything related.
Forum rules
Be nice. No drama.
norgate
Posts: 49
Joined: 20 Oct 2019, 16:50

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by norgate »

Hi wbushby. I will PM you as well.
veekoo
Posts: 25
Joined: 07 Jun 2021, 07:07

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by veekoo »

Hi Norgate!

I would like to buy a Pluggy Reloaded kit. Do you have all the components now available? I live in Finland.

Thank you very much,
Vesa
wbushby
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Jul 2021, 10:59

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by wbushby »

I have put together the kit and loaded the cpld code as per page 11 and the keyboard and game port both work great. But when I press ctrl F2 to access the sd card the blinkenlights go out and the power light stars flicking and the screen goes black. is there an sd card restriction ?
Or does jumper 1 have to be closed (which I read in some comment) ?
bmwtcu
Posts: 57
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 12:02

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by bmwtcu »

Is the SD card formatted to FAT16/32? Did you already check for shorts on the SDCard adapter/Pro Micro SPI pins? What version ROM and BabelFish are you using? See viewtopic.php?f=4&t=279 for valid combinations and where to get them. Where is the jumper you are referring to?
wbushby
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Jul 2021, 10:59

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by wbushby »

I am using ROM5a and babelfish from here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/d8v284j9j41b ... WuCUa?dl=0
sd card is formatted FAT32
I was referring to J1 on the ProMicro
No shorts on soldering

*******
I don't have the SD card ROM installed. Where does that go ?
Does that replace ROMv5a.rom ?
at67
Posts: 384
Joined: 14 May 2018, 08:29

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by at67 »

wbushby wrote: 29 Jul 2021, 09:56 I don't have the SD card ROM installed. Where does that go ?
Does that replace ROMv5a.rom ?
Yes it does, follow the link in bmwtcu's post.
wbushby
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Jul 2021, 10:59

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by wbushby »

so just discovered the 27c1024 is write once. ordered some more from mouser
bmwtcu
Posts: 57
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 12:02

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by bmwtcu »

@at67 I think he's using the NOROM BabelFish which should work with the v5a ROM. @wbushby Do you have a way to measure voltage/current on 5V? From your description, I'm suspecting that your 5V rail droops to <4.5V when you're accessing the SDCard and causes your reset chip to kick in. Either that or you have a resistive short that causes the 5V rail to droop. Have you tried a better USB cable? One thing you could try is to leave the ProMicro USB cable plugged in so that the Pluggy Reloaded gets its own 5V vs sourcing it from the Gigatron.
at67
Posts: 384
Joined: 14 May 2018, 08:29

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by at67 »

bmwtcu wrote: 29 Jul 2021, 20:07 @at67 I think he's using the NOROM BabelFish which should work with the v5a ROM.
Ahh I missed that bit, cheers.
wbushby
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Jul 2021, 10:59

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by wbushby »

Thank you. It was low voltage. all working now
Post Reply