Pluggy Reloaded

Using, learning, programming and modding the Gigatron and anything related.
Forum rules
Be nice. No drama.
norgate

Pluggy Reloaded

Post by norgate »

Hello all,

I am in the process of building an IO board for my Gigatron, basically a more advanced "Pluggy McPlugface", thats supposed to tap the full potential of BabelFish.

The board will connect to the Game Controller port on the Gigatron and feature PS/2 keyboard input, game controller pass-through, and USB. The whole thing will be run by an ATmega328P microcontroller running the Arduino Bootloader and BabelFish. USB will be handled by the FT232RL USB to UART Chip.

Since I'm a total newbie when it comes to electrical engineering, I'd appreciate your feedback on my current schematic as well as any other suggestions you might have.

My current plan is to build a breadboard prototype as soon as the parts arrive and, if that goes well, design a PCB.

I'll keep you posted on my progress.
What do you think so far?

Regards
Paul
Attachments
schematic.png
schematic.png (67.12 KiB) Viewed 15473 times
BobWalance

Re: Pluggy Reloaded

Post by BobWalance »

I want one, too! Have you considered offering them for sale? I'm very surprised that Gigatron didn't include a game controller pass through on their McMuffin. It seems like this will be a big inconvenience (I'll know in a couple of weeks when I get my full kit).

I'll take a closer look at your schematic later, but I did notice that I couldn't find the source for the net "VCC'. Is it the same net as the 5V from the USB? Check your netlist.

Keep us posted on your project.

Bob
PurpleGirl

Post by PurpleGirl »