Prime Number Prog as Benchmark for my Gigatron build

Using, learning, programming and modding the Gigatron and anything related.
Forum rules
Be nice. No drama.
wtlprnft

Prime Number Prog as Benchmark for my Gigatron build

Post by wtlprnft »

Hi Community,
As my first soldering project I built the gigatron without any error, thanks for the great instructions!!
As benchmark I did a quick and dirty Program, that computes all prime numbers from 2-32767. Ofcourse, all the usual arithmetical improvemnets are implemented, as they are: only dividing thru earlier computed prime numbers till the half of the tested number and ofcourse only testing odd numbers above 2. I am not a programmer, so I am sure there are many of improvement possibilities in code, so any improvement suggestions are greatly welcome!! The last displayed number on screen is the 3512, the number of found prime numbers. The referenced basic program on github takes about 3 minutes for 1-200, my version about 2 seconds, the whole run till 32767 is about 3 hours and 45 minutes in lowest vga mode. if you are interested, my code is attached, the display of the computed prime numbers is copied from the examples directory.

many thanks to the originators of that great project, I do it for educational purpose and its great therefor!

peter
Attachments
prime.gcl
(5.25 KiB) Downloaded 257 times
marcelk

Re: Prime Number Prog as Benchmark for my Gigatron build

Post by marcelk »

3512 must be correct! The code looks as fine as GCL can be. GCL can't be pretty, it's all about the comments. The BM9.gtb BASIC program is part of a famous benchmark from the early 1980s. It has inefficiencies that are deliberate. If you have a GitHub account, please publish the program in Contrib/.

I take this opportunity to explain the compiler's output.

Invoking the offline GCL compiler can be done from the root directory of the repo, or by using "make".

Code: Select all

bash> make prime.gt1