Circuit simulator

Using, learning, programming and modding the Gigatron and anything related.
Forum rules
Be nice. No drama.
Post Reply
Lerc
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 May 2020, 19:38

Circuit simulator

Post by Lerc »

So I made this thing [attached I hope]. It's a Gigatron laid out in SimulIDE https://www.simulide.com
CircuitScreenShot.png
CircuitScreenShot.png (156.46 KiB) Viewed 133 times
It has been a tough job debugging but I got it to the point where It runs through the boot process and lights up the blinkenlights in order and eventually jumps off to $1200 to start loading things,

I built it to try out a few ideas and to get a good understanding of the Gigatron architecture before I start changing things. I'll probably have to start making my own tiny test ROMs to try out specific features
Attachments
Gigatron_simul.zip
(119.27 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Ruud
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 May 2022, 18:58

Re: Circuit simulator

Post by Ruud »

I just was looking for a nice simulator. Still have to check if NGspice within KiCad works, but a working Gigatron is already good enough for me.
gfernval
Posts: 40
Joined: 24 Jan 2022, 00:39

Re: Circuit simulator

Post by gfernval »

At what speed do you run it? (use version 0.4.15-SR9) The blinken lights do not light correctly.
Lerc
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 May 2020, 19:38

Re: Circuit simulator

Post by Lerc »

I run it at 100Hz. The first led Lights up after about a minute. Then there is quite a long wait (15 min) while it does the entropy gathering code. You should be able to see X and Y count through the full range of memory while it does this.
Post Reply