gigatron cases?

Using, learning, programming and modding the Gigatron and anything related.
Forum rules
Be nice. No drama.
Post Reply
markboston
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Dec 2020, 20:18

gigatron cases?

Post by markboston »

is anyone making gigatron cases? doesn't have to be the original wooden one.
jtompuri
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Aug 2020, 21:25

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by jtompuri »

I would be also interested to get a case for my Gigatron. I think that a laser-cut clear acrylic case with top and bottom plastic sheets and standoffs could be really easy and nice solution. There are online services where you can design and order laser-cut acrylic plastics. Perhaps someone has already made a design for a acrylic case? I googled a bit and found this service online for designing and ordering laser-cut stuff: https://www.ponoko.com/
djones1960
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jul 2022, 18:23

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by djones1960 »

I am late to the party building a Gigatron and didn't get a case either. So I decided to design one that could be 3d printed. It is still a little bit of a work in progress. But was wondering if anyone else would be interested in the design? I could put it up on Thingiverse.com.
wbushby
Posts: 91
Joined: 16 Jul 2021, 10:59

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by wbushby »

I would be interested in your 3d printed case
djones1960
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jul 2022, 18:23

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by djones1960 »

Ok. I have cleaned things up some and published what I have now.
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5445044
walter
Site Admin
Posts: 140
Joined: 13 May 2018, 08:00

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by walter »

I thought, why is the logo on the back? But I see it's also on the front :)

Maybe you can use the official font to generate the logo.
Attachments
gigatron.zip
gigatron font
(1.45 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
djones1960
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jul 2022, 18:23

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by djones1960 »

Thanks. I never even thought about doing that with the font :) I'll see about adding that to the design and will let everyone know when it's updated. Any other suggested changes?

Dave
djones1960
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jul 2022, 18:23

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by djones1960 »

Well I just did an initial try using that font and something doesn't look right. There are those funny "f" like areas that are not in the text I put in Openscad. Here is the Openscad command for that "text("Gigatron TTL", font = "gigatron", size=6);"
font.jpg
font.jpg (16.51 KiB) Viewed 130 times
walter
Site Admin
Posts: 140
Joined: 13 May 2018, 08:00

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by walter »

The font only contains the characters g, i, a, t, r, o, n. That means you can't use the capital G, just use a lower case G at the beginning. The "TTL" part needs to be in a regular font.

Something like combining
text("gigatron", font = "gigatron", size=6);
with
text("TTL", font = "Helvetica Neue", size=6);
djones1960
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jul 2022, 18:23

Re: gigatron cases?

Post by djones1960 »

It's been updated to use that font. Take a look and see what everyone thinks.
Post Reply