Gigatrons and Education

General project related announcements and discussions. Events, other retro systems, the forum itself...
monsonite

Gigatrons and Education

Post by monsonite »

In this strange year of lockdowns and social distancing, many of us will have had some spare time on our hands.

I chose to use this time as constructively as possible, and to advance my understanding of computer science, software and hardware design languages. After 35 years in industry as a hardware design engineer, I wanted to go back to basics and fill some of the gaps in my technical knowledge.

I devised a broad outline plan, based on what I had learned from building the Gigatron.

1. Create a new cpu based on a novel architecture. Define the instruction set and architecture ISA
2. Write a simulator in C, to test the ISA and prove that it is viable for general purpose applications
3. Port the cpu design to a hardware description language HDL - in this case verilog, and implement the cpu as a soft core on an FPGA
4. Develop a range of software applications so the cpu can perform useful tasks
5. Implement the cpu in real TTL

This has become quite a journey, but not an insurmountable challenge. The first step is the hardest, because it defines the direction of the rest of the project.

So it occurred to me, that based on what I learned from Gigatron, whether there might be value in creating an educational course around the Gigatron Project.

In 2013, I took the online course "From Nand to Tetris" (N2T) - the building of a modern computer system, starting with only the Nand gate. I followed the course through each of the chapters covering every aspect of the hardware and software.

It was a stimulating exercise, but unfortunately, it only existed as a simulation on a PC - there was no real hardware at the end of the course.